You are here


About the Judges

Lee Maracle

Lee Maracle, Prose

Lee Maracle is a prominent author and critic, an expert on First Nations culture and history, and an influential Indigenous voice. She has written five books of fiction, three works of non-fiction, and two collections of poetry, including Ravensong, Sojourner’s Truth and Other Stories, I Am Woman, and Bent Box. Lee is the Mentor for Aboriginal Students at the University of Toronto, where she also teaches and is the Traditional Cultural Director for the Indigenous Theatre School.


Ian Williams

Ian Williams, Poetry

Ian Williams is an award-winning poet and short story writer and was named one of ten Canadian writers to watch by CBC. His collection You Know Who You Are was a finalist for the ReLit Prize for poetry. Not Anyone’s Anything won the 2011 Danuta Gleed Literary Award for the best first collection of short fiction, and Personals was shortlisted for both the 2013 Griffin Poetry Prize and the Robert Kroetsch award. Ian has a PhD in English from the University of Toronto, where he works as a professor. He is currently working on his first novel.